Jamming around ::

Finally finished painting the second guest room – so just our room left to do. Have been planting a fair amount of fruit seeds – what will grow and bear fruit is a mystery, but life needs some mystery right? Veg garden is producing nicely – tomatoes though are still small and green, might only see some in a month or so. Have tried protecting cucumbers and marrows from pumpkin flies – have only had one cucumber but had to throw it away – but need to make a plan. No point watering something you do not get anything from it.

A friend, J, invited me around to pick some plums. I said I would bring M’s wife L with as I knew she would be interested in making jam. Took a ladder with, luckily I did as all the fruit that was left was high up. Means I had to do all the picking. But walked away with around 7kgs of fruit. Made two batches of fruit roll, looks yummy – deep red color. And, for the first time, a big bottle of jam. I was surprised at how tart is was – I had added a 1kg of suger, and I thought the plums where sweet! But did get it so set so was pretty happy with the result.

Will pop around and give J some – want to be first in line next year when the plums are ready! Funny, although his house is only around 1km away, he says they do not have mousebirds! Weird.

Leave a comment