Christmas 2015 ::

Will be going to the wife’s family in CT – should be fun with a few of her aunts and uncles – I get on pretty well with them. Always lots of food – I will be making my malva pudding as well as a spinach/bacon/cheese pie crust less quiche type thing.

Yesterday we put up a new blind in kitchen. Wow, what a difference – the old one was so grimy. Would not surprise me if it was installed when the house was built. With that and the newly painted walls – the tiles are looking very dated. Could it be tackled in bit sized chunks…??

But the main new was I have been trading with real money for a week. Really am enjoying myself – I think I might have finally found my paying passion – something that has eluded me for 42 years. The closest I have been before would have been poker – but, played properly, it is actually extremely slow. When I say passion – I mean something that I enjoy doing – and look forward to the next session. And when I have free time I want to do it.

When I retired early I did hope to find a paying passion – although I do get on quite well with my monthly stipend, more would be better. But, don’t want to slave for “more” – I want to enjoy getting it, hence the paying hobby.

Some idea’s I have had for this hobby included – woodworking, wood turning, working with a forge, some sort of garden produce, painting and a rather far fetched one, writing. And although set myself up to succeed – they just did not grab me. I hoped the passion would come with execution.

Although it is still very early days, and have tons (and I mean tons) still to learn (starting a course at the beginning of jan) – I do think day trading tick all the boxes. I must just not get consumed by it – keep up with my other hobbies( not that I would give up on the veg gardening, that’s just too much fun).

Losses will come, as night follows day – need to have money management systems in place AND risk management systems in place. Really need to find my edge – but thinking a fairly simple system is the way to go. But would rather learn and use all available indicators, then discard them, that not learn them.

 

 

Leave a comment